فيسبوك تويتر
dollarbender.com

متى تمارس خيارات الأسهم الخاصة بك

تم النشر في ديسمبر 17, 2022 بواسطة Todd Marvel

يمكن أن تقدم لك سلعة الموظفين طريقة كبيرة للحصول على دخل مؤجل ودعوة واحدة للسيطرة على الاعتراف بالدخل الخاضع للضريبة. لا تدفع عمومًا أي ضريبة عندما يتم منح الخيار لأنك لا تتلقى أي أسهم من الأسهم ، فقط خيار الحصول على الأسهم في وقت لاحق.

بشكل عام ، قد يكون عقد خيار للحصول على الأسهم أفضل بكثير من الاحتفاظ بالسهم نفسه. يوفر الاختيار الحماية ضد الخسارة إذا انخفضت قيمة السهم دون سعر التمرين. علاوة على ذلك ، يوفر الخيار حقوق الملكية المكافئة للحامل في المنظمة ، دون الحاجة إلى أي استثمار فوري. توفر سلعة الموظفين إمكانية امتلاك نمو أسهم ما بعد التمرين على أنها مكاسب رأسمالية بدلاً من الدخل العادي. هذا يعطي ميزة للأفراد الذين هم في أفضل قوسين ضريبي

تعرف الفرق

تمنح السلع غير المؤهلة (NSOs) العامل خيار الحصول على أسهم الشركات بسعر ثابت محدد (عادةً في القيمة السوقية العادلة في ذلك الوقت يتم منح الاختيار). بشكل عام ، يجب أن تمارس بديلك بديلك للشراء داخل فترة زمنية محددة-بشكل عام 10 سنوات أو أقل.

عند ممارسة حقوقك ، يتم فرض ضريبة على أي ربح محقق من الانتشار (الفرق بين سعر التمرين والقيمة السوقية العادلة) كدخل عادي. ومع ذلك ، فإن أي ربح محقق من تاريخ الخيار الذي تم ممارسته قبل تاريخ يأتي الأسهم يتم فرض ضرائب على كسب رأس المال.

توفر Commodity (ISOs) للحوافز أيضًا بديلاً عن شراء أسهم الشركات بسعر تحصيل ، ولكن لا يمكن إصدار ISOs له سعر تمرين أقل من القيمة السوقية العادلة الحالية للسهم.

بشكل عام ، فإن الانتشار على ISOs ليس تحت رحمة الضريبة العادية في ذلك الوقت تمارس الاختيار. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن تخضع الانتشار لضريبة الاختيار الدنيا (تحقق مع مستشار Groco المالي لمعرفة المزيد). يمكن أن يتم إدراكها عند بيع أسهم ISO كزيادة رأسمالية. شريطة أن تكون قد احتفظت بسهم ISO لمدة عام واحد من تاريخ التمرين ، وبعد سنتين على الأقل من التاريخ الذي تم فيه منح الاختيار ، يتم فرض الضريبة على المكسب الكامل المعترف به عند بيع الأسهم على المدى الطويل على المدى الطويل يكسب.

متى تمارس الخيارات الخاصة بك

يعتمد قرار وقت ممارسة الرياضة بشكل كبير على عدة عوامل بالإضافة إلى وضعك الخاص:

خطة شركتك

بشكل عام ، تصبح الخيارات قابلة للتمرين على مدار فترة من السنوات. على سبيل المثال ، تختفي الخيارات الممنوحة في خطة العمل بنسبة 20 في المائة سنويًا على مدى خمس سنوات. من المهم معرفة حقائق خطة الشركة قبل أن تقرر ذلك.

نمو شركتك

يعد فهم كيفية استعداد مؤسستك للنمو جانبًا أساسيًا آخر في عملية اختيارك. قضايا فحص وفهم هي:

  • كيف تكسب مؤسستك المال - فهم أن أرباحها مرتبطة بها.
  • تقييم المبيعات - قارن مبيعات شركتك بمتوسط ​​المنافسين.
  • اتجاهات الصناعة - مراقبة شركتك تعمل فيها. ابحث عن فرص النمو وفهم تقنية شركتك لالتقاط حصة السوق.
  • فهم العوامل التي قد تؤثر على سيولة السوق - هل مستويات الفائدة المنخفضة وتخفيضات ضريبية تحرر من موارد النمو في الأعمال؟
  • كيف تقوم مؤسستك بتمويل النمو - هل ينموون دون داع لقوله؟
  • تعرف على قادتك وخلفيتهم - من المحتمل أن يحقق الفريق التنفيذي القوي للشركة النجاح المستمر.
  • فهم نسبة P/E (السعر إلى الأرباح) لشركتك - ابحث عن تدفقات نقدية قوية وتكاليف مُدارة جيدًا.
  • احتياجاتك المالية الحالية

    يجب أن يفكر قرار ممارسة الرياضة في ضرورة النقد ، وقرب من انتهاء صلاحية الخيار و/أو قيمة الأسهم الحالية بالمقارنة مع قيمتها المستقبلية المتوقعة. فيما يتعلق بـ ISOs ، بسبب الضرائب ، يوصى بشدة بفترات الاحتفاظ الإلزامية عند تحديد وقت ممارسة خياراتك و/أو بيع الأسهم الأساسية.

    موازنة محفظة

    يمكنك أيضًا اختيار ممارسة الخيار إذا كان أسهم شركتك يمثل جزءًا كبيرًا من محفظة الاستثمار الخاصة بك وتريد أيضًا تنويع ممتلكاتك. يخبر بعض المهنيين تقليل مخاطر الاستثمار ، يجب ألا يمثل أسهم الشركة أكثر من 40 في المائة من محفظة الفرد.

    ظروف السوق

    من الواضح أن ظروف السوق ستلعب دورًا كبيرًا في اختيارك لممارسة خيارك. إذا كان المخزون الكامن وراء تقدير الاختيار ، فقد ترغب في الاحتفاظ بالخيارات شريطة أن تكون قادرًا على الاستفادة من المكاسب المستقبلية.

    @ ضريبة التداعيات

    في حالة NSOs ، قد ترغب في التفكير في ممارسة خيارك على مدار عامين لتجنب وجود شريحة ضريبية أعلى. تذكر أن الانتشار على NSOs تحت رحمة الضريبة العادية أثناء التمرين. نظرًا لأن التقدير الذي يحدث قبل التمرين يخضع للضريبة كدخل عادي ، فقد يكون من المفيد ممارسة الرياضة مع مرور الوقت.

Share This Page On Facebook Share This Page On Twitter
dollarbender.com

When to Exercise Your Stock Options

Posted on September 17, 2020 by Todd Marvel

Employee commodity can offer you with a considerable way to obtain deferred income and invite one to control the recognition of taxable income. You generally pay no tax when a choice is granted as you aren't receiving any shares of stock, only the choice to get shares at a later time.

In general, holding a choice to obtain stock could be much better than holding the stock itself. The choice provides protection against loss if the value of the stock decline below the exercise price. Furthermore, the option provides holder equivalent ownership rights in the organization, without requiring any immediate investment. Employee commodity provide potential to possess post-exercise stock growth taxed as capital gains instead of ordinary income. This gives an advantage for individuals who are in the very best tax brackets

Know the Difference

Nonqualified COMMODITY (NSOs) give a worker the option to get corporate stock at a specified, fixed price (usually at fair market value at that time the choice is granted). Generally, you must exercise thooughly your substitute for buy inside a specified time period--typically 10 years or less.

Upon exercising your rights, any gain realized from the spread (the difference between your exercise price and the fair market value) is taxed as ordinary income. However, any gain realized from the date the choice exercised before date the stock comes is taxed as capital gain.

Incentive COMMODITY (ISOs) also provide substitute for purchase corporate stock at a collection price, but ISOs can't be issued having an exercise price below the existing fair market value of the stock.

Generally, the spread on ISOs isn't at the mercy of ordinary tax at that time you exercise the choice. However, spreads could be subject to the choice minimum tax (check with your GROCO financial adviser to learn more). Gain realized upon the sale of the ISO stock could be taxed as capital gain. Provided you have held the ISO stock for a minumum of one year from the date of exercise and at the very least 2 yrs from the date the choice was granted, the complete gain recognized upon sale of the stock is taxed as a long-term capital gain.

When to EXERCISE THOOUGHLY YOUR Options

The decision of when to exercise thooughly your options depends upon several factors plus your particular situation:

Your Company's Plan

Generally, options become exercisable over an interval of years. For instance, options granted in the business plan vest 20 percent per year over five years. It is important to know the facts of one's firm's plan before you decide.

Your Company's Growth

Understanding how your organization is poised for growth is another essential aspect in your choice making process. Issues to examine and understand are:

  • How your organization makes money - understand the that their earnings are linked with.
  • Evaluate sales - compare your company's sales to the average of competitors.
  • Industry trends - monitor the your company operates in. Search for growth opportunities and understand your company's technique for capturing market share.
  • Understand the factors that may affect the liquidity of the marketplace - are lower interest levels and tax cuts freeing up resources for the business's growth plans?
  • How your organization is financing growth - are they growing needlessly to say?
  • Know your leaders and their background - a company's strong executive team will probably yield continued success.
  • Understand your company's P/E (price to earnings) ratio - search for strong cashflow and well-managed costs.
  • Your Current Financial Needs

    The decision to exercise should think about the necessity for cash, the proximity to the option's expiration and/or the existing stock value in comparison with its expected future value. Pertaining to ISOs, due to taxes, the mandatory holding periods is highly recommended when determining when to exercise your options and/or sell the underlying stock.

    Balancing Your Portfolio

    You could also elect to exercise a choice if your company's stock represents a big part of your investment portfolio and you also desire to diversify your holdings. Some professionals tell reduce investment risk, company stock shouldn't represent a lot more than 40 percent of one's portfolio.

    Market Conditions

    Obviously, market conditions will play a big role in your choice to exercise thooughly your option. If the stock underlying the choice appreciates, you might wish to retain options provided that possible to be able to benefit from future gains.

    Tax Ramifications

    In the case of NSOs, you might want to consider exercising your option over a couple of years to avoid having right into a higher tax bracket. Remember, the spread on NSOs is at the mercy of regular tax during exercise. Because appreciation occurring before exercise is taxed as ordinary income, it could be beneficial to exercise as time passes.